By Design

11 Aug

“In time we can accept great loss if we have someone loving us through it. God sends friends and companions to love and support us.”~ Robert Schuller

Grief has a way of feeling insurmountable, while in retrospect, you were only really walking through pieces at a time.

Looking back over the past few years, I am able to see what I wasn’t able to see at the time. I see deep growth, I see the letting go of parts of me that didn’t serve me well, new growth that took its place and the reaching out. I see the friendships that didn’t make the journey and I see the friendships that came instead; Loving, God inspired friendships that kept me moving forward with God leading the way.

The words of my Sister in law, echo in my head, forever embedded in my heart. She hugged me tightly as I sobbed, she said ” I am not letting go until you’re okay”. Those words, that outpouring of hope and love profoundly impacted my growth. They were Godly words, love filled words. The compassion and love from such beautiful women and men,completely surrounded me, protected me, allowed me to heal and to grow. What I saw and what is and was evident, is God. Every turn, He was there, in that love. It was so deep, so unconditional, so determined, so inspiring and hopefilled.

I was put on this journey of deep learning. Deep growth. I made many mistakes along the way, each misstep another lesson. They were teaching moments and I learned. I sometimes refer to it as 2×4 training. It wasn’t easy but it was amazing. I love the people God has brought to my journey and I intend to be the blessing I was blessed with.

I am becoming the woman God intends me to be. It is humbling to know this. It is also so exciting. I have softened in the right ways and toughened up in the right ways. Each hurt, each joy, each frustation, each mistake, each annoyance. I learn. I grow.

I have embraced God’s Design in me.

Matthew 5:3-5 (MSG)
3″You’re blessed when you’re at the end of your rope. With less of you there is more of God and his rule.”

4″You’re blessed when you feel you’ve lost what is most dear to you. Only then can you be embraced by the One most dear to you.”

5″You’re blessed when you’re content with just who you are—no more, no less. That’s the moment you find yourselves proud owners of everything that can’t be bought.”

2 Responses to “By Design”

  1. Renee' Barnes August 11, 2012 at 8:01 am #

    Beckie, I really needed to read this today. I hope you will keep blogging!

  2. Retha Berl August 22, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    I enjoy your writing style really enjoying this website. “Truth is beautiful and divine no matter how humble its origin.” by Michael Pupin.

Leave a Reply

