A Shield of Humor.

16 Aug

“Imagination was given to man to compensate him for what he is not, and a sense of humor was provided to console him for what he is.”~unknown ..

While there are many things to take very seriously about our Holy journey, there is a topic that requires much attention; humor!

A sense of humor is such an incredible gift from God. There is so much to find humorous in each of us; give me 10 minutes with you, I will find something humorous about you. I will laugh with you or at you, your call. Just kidding. Okay, not kidding, but, humor is essential in our walk with God.

I find humor in most situations and most people. I laugh at myself easily. I am a happy girl, with a happy heart. I have always had a sense of humor but I wasn’t always happy.

There is a gift in seeing the humor in our ups and downs,our mistakes, our fumbles and our hardships. When we laugh at ourselves, we take away any power the devil could ever have over us, in any situation.

Tonight, I shared with a friend that while I was going through tough times as a single mom, eons ago, I had a friend that started laughing at me when my power had been turned off. Within 10 seconds, she had me laughing instead of crying. That is a gift and that is love. The devil is in the worry. God is in the humor.

We all know people that are serious, solemn, striving for perfection. We are not meant to be perfect. We were designed to make and will make a mistake, feel foolish, be misunderstood, mistaken, do really silly things at times. Life is a gift. God intended for us to learn, to love, to be humble, and humbled, to bless, and to laugh. I believe that. If we have a sense of humor, imagine God’s sense of humor!

I am sort of funny and that is something I am very grateful for. It’s a blessing. I laugh; every single day, with God, with others, even alone.
Thats the way it should be, For, there is a time to laugh.

A Time for Everything

3 For everything there is a season,
a time for every activity under heaven.
2 A time to be born and a time to die.
A time to plant and a time to harvest.
3 A time to kill and a time to heal.
A time to tear down and a time to build up.
4 A time to cry and a time to laugh.
A time to grieve and a time to dance.
5 A time to scatter stones and a time to gather stones.
A time to embrace and a time to turn away.
6 A time to search and a time to quit searching.
A time to keep and a time to throw away.
7 A time to tear and a time to mend.
A time to be quiet and a time to speak.
8 A time to love and a time to hate.
A time for war and a time for peace.

Ecclesiastes 3: 3-8 NLT

Leave a Reply

