Missteps to Holiness

18 Aug

People will judge you from their heart, God will judge your heart. Be sure you are playing to the right audience ~me

We, as a church, did a study on the book “Counterfeit Gods”. Some chapters were so glaringly obvious to me how they applied to my walk. Other chapters were glaringly obvious how they applied to other people. Ha!

One such chapter was the idol of success. I was married to two different workaholic types, money, success driven, you know the type. Well, after reading that chapter, I decided, to the point of idolatry. I went to church that Sunday with less enthusiasm for my journey, but rather, looking for insight into those that this chapter actually applied to. At the very least, I would have fellowship.

God is so funny.

As Pastor Spencer began speaking on the idol of success, I realized it was all about popularity. The more he talked, the more I became uncomfortable. I was dumbfounded. Success includes caring about what others think of us. Our desire to please people. I do not care for being disliked in fact, it really bothers me. I thought being a likable, popular person was important. How is that an idol?

Idolatry is to value something or someone in a way that detracts from the love and trust we owe to God.If we are distracted by other things, pursuing other things more fervently than we pursue Him, then it is an act of theft from God. Convicted! Again!

We will get hurt when we put faith in people and not in God. When we care about being popular, important, liked, we put ourselves at risk to sell out, to not be true to our faithwalk.

Our journey here is to become Holy, not popular. God will never let us down. Ever.

In my letting go of this desire for people, I find myself feeling closer to God than ever before. You are never alone but you have to let go of the things that stand between you and Him.


“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong” 2 Cor. 12:9 – 10

“If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first. If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you. If they persecuted me, they will persecute you.” John 15:18-20 NIV

Leave a Reply

