Flying High

31 Aug

“I finally understand the difference between loving and pleasing, between making people happy and spreading seeds of joy ”

The stronghold I keep revisiting is the people pleaser in me. It is so natural to me to care what others think; to feel responsible for what others feel, desire, want. I am a “nice” person, afterall.

I gain such confidence from making someone happy.

There is a sense of confidence that we can feel or exhibit that is from our own ego. However we derive that confidence, when it isn’t from God, that feeling of value doesn’t last.

There is a peace that enters your heart when you rely on God for everything. When you walk this world with His purpose for your life in your mind, with His words on your lips, with His plan in your heart. It is a peace that requires only Him; filling your heart, filling your thoughts, that surpasses confidence, surpasses any attention, any recognition you will receive here. There is nothing worldly like it.

Wouldn’t it be wonderful to be so wise, so full of the Holy Spirit everyday that all strongholds, all temptation, were but a memory? Alas, I am just a weak sinner that is so loved anyways. He is amazing.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.2 Corinthians 12:9-10

Leave a Reply

