Tripping Up

3 Sep

“Do not fear mistakes. You will know failure. Continue to reach out.” ~Benjamin Franklin

I remember sitting in church a couple of years ago, contemplating recommitting myself to God. I had drifted away from Him in years past, now was being led on a journey of reconnection.

I began to wonder if going “all in” would be too boring? I was terrified of recommitting. I had an vision in my head of what a “good” Christian looked like. It wasn’t even Jesus that I pictured but rather more a “church lady” of sorts and she didn’t look like fun to me!

Making the decision to follow Christ, to begin a one on one relationship with God, is such an incredibly personal journey. It is a quest to become Holy and it is difficult. Maybe we should refer to ourselves as Christ worshiping sinners because it seems a far more accurate description. A real faith walk is fraught with many mistakes and missteps. It is completely humbling.

In my journey, God works the best in me through difficulty. My deepest insecurities become exposed by my pain and my sins. When my sin is revealed, as I recognize, make amends, seek forgiveness, and learn from my sins, I gain wisdom.

In those moments, we stand in the presence of God. In those moments we are blessed and as I say often, we are blessed to be a blessing.
Learning from my sin, allows to understand others on a deeper level, bringing a gentler, more loving way of seeing others.

As my learning continues, my wisdom deepens, my temptations come in bigger ways. Like a muscle, if I stay diligent on learning, on growth, my obedience is slowly stretched and strengthened.

No mistake is without God, standing by us, loving us through our mistake, making sure it is within our power to grow from. From that comes acceptance of the person we are, imperfectly walking toward God’s perfect design in us, we walk towards Holiness.

Going “all in” is the best decision I’ve ever made. It is also the best time I have ever had. It is my quest to become Holy, my sins are falling away, one by one. New ones are exposed to me over time and I welcome them. It isn’t an easy path, but it is never boring!

I am still the life of the party, in my own mind and that is God’s design in me.

“though he may stumble, he will not fall, for the Lord upholds him with his hand.” ~ Psalm 37:24 (NIV)

One Response to “Tripping Up”

  1. Angela Dean September 3, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    I have had that same recommitment struggle in the past, and tend to continue to struggle with doubt unless I focus on God’s everlasting love. Thank you for your inspiring blog.

Leave a Reply

