Knocking on Heavens Door

11 Sep

Why are you cast down, O my soul?
And why are you disquieted within me?
Hope in God;
For I shall yet praise Him,
The help of my countenance and my God.
Psalm 43:5 NKJV

I am under the weather. Thank goodness this doesn’t happen very often. When I am not feeling well, I find myself unable to keep my emotions in check. They have a life of their own. I get sad, edgy and very moody. Those that know me well, know this is not my normal disposition.

That darned devil is so crafty! My physical weakness sets off a chain of events that puts my soul at disease, and that needs to be guarded. When I went through times of deep suffering, I was less at risk of disobedience because I was surrounded with support, I even gave myself the time I needed, because what I felt was understandable, even by my own measure. I leaned into the Lord.

When I am just having a down day, because of illness, lack of sleep, or maybe I am stretched too thin, I need to really guard myself. My mind drifts to self pity, to doubts, to not nice thoughts as a whole. I am reactionary, I have no tolerance, and I don’t mind my manners, so to speak. These are not traits that are representative of my countenance, my true heart, the heart that God shaped and molded so beautifully these past few years.

I literally avoided my bible, devotionals and my fellowship pages during my brief pity trip a.k.a. “the cold”. In that time, I neglected people, I snapped at my daughter, hurting her feelings, I thought unkind things about people. Suddenly, it hit me like ice water!

What if that was my moment to plant important seeds of hope, of joy?

What if we have no more moments? I used to think this was about us, about what God thought of us. If we wasted our last moments by submitting to disobedience, what would God say to us? Now I see this very important lesson differently!

The very important lesson here is to not waste a single moment on anything not of Jesus, not because we are wasting our moments for us, we are saved! What matters more is that we may be wasting someone else’s opportunity to know Heaven, to walk with God.

Heal my heart and make it clean
Open up my eyes to the things unseen
Show me how to love like You have loved me ~Hillsong

2 Responses to “Knocking on Heavens Door”

  1. awindowofwisdom September 12, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    When you feel like pulling away from the light that is when you need to run to it to keep your light. Wishing you blessings and peace in your day!

  2. Wesley Culbertson September 21, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    This article is presently what did you say? I need, thank you.

Leave a Reply

