Humble Pie.

23 Jan

Pride makes us artificial and humility makes us real. ~ Thomas Merton

Humility: a prominent Christian grace. It is a state of mind well pleasing to God; it preserves the soul in tranquility and makes us patient under trials

There is nothing more beautiful to me than a person lit from within; that light of joy and peace that comes from the Lord.

I am blessed beyond blessings by the people God brings to my path. I have been surrounded by beautiful women and a few amazing men, my whole life. I think I was so busy in my life, I didn’t realize the depth of love and compassion these people were capable of; maybe I kept my distance. Now, I have found this to be my greatest blessing and my greatest joy. I found it in the midst of my grief.
When I was humbled, I was able to see what was. What remained was astounding as my eyes were opened to the abundance of what God intended.

Humility is so becoming, truly beautiful, offering a view that softens everything. It creates the desire for wisdom and the sharing of Grace. Grace, humility, love, that is the light. Wisdom is a journey over time and one we need to seek self control with, as well.

I think, when we look to others for our approval, and not God’s, we embark on an endless journey of condemnation, pride, never measuring up. When you seek God’s approval, you find joy in the conviction, the growing, even in the midst of personal struggles, there is joy. As we seek wisdom, we no longer seek perfection, because we accept our limitations. We strive to please God, and quite often at the risk of not pleasing this world.

We are blessed in our humility. Humility is our greatest strength. We see God as our Father, our everything. With humility, we begin to understand Grace, and Mercy. We know we are sinners. We know we don’t deserve the blessings we receive, we are not perfect enough to gain eternal life. By becoming less, seeking more of God, we become more Holy.

God the Father, Jesus the Savior, Holy Spirit the comforter… we the humble, the blessed.

God loves us so much that he will bless us with amazing and abundant blessings, even when, by our own grandiose standards, we do not deserve them. Humbled and grateful, seeking wisdom, that is where there is pure joy.

Psalms 149: 4 For the LORD takes pleasure in his people; he adorns the humble with salvation.

Mark 10:45 For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.

Philippians 2:5-8 Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied himself, by taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men. And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross.

Leave a Reply

