Tie a knot and hang on!

25 Jan

He will cover you with his feathers.
He will shelter you with his wings.
His faithful promises are your armor and protection.
Psalm 91:4(NLT)

I have matured enough as a Christian to know when I am being molded, sculpted, transformed. Let’s be truthful;this is not our favorite part of our Faithwalk, this emotional process of change, hardship or burden, discouragement or pain, even loss or worse, anger. You get the picture. It’s not fun.

James 1 tells us to consider our trials a blessing. This is our time to grow our faith and endurance. Oh! and how wise we are to share this scripture when someone we know is going through difficulties. Obviously, this is easier said than done. I have this funny picture in my head of what I must look like to our beautiful Savior; Body thrown across the bed, tear stained face, mascara running, as I remember I am supposed to seek wisdom, with my best forced smile, you know the one, teeth gritted, eyes wild, as my mind whirls a thousand different directions of all that is going wrong…with a Faith and Trust I don’t feel, I calmly ask God for wisdom. (I also add a few addendums: patience, because I need it; billboards, because I need them, and precious sleep.) I ask the Holy Spirit to comfort me in my weak state. I do believe God takes special pity on me in this exact moment because even though I don’t always have this sense of peace, I do tend to fall straight to sleep. I think this is essential to gaining strength and keeping our faith in trials.

God usually doesn’t fix our circumstances. Why on earth would He fix what is intended for us to grow and become stronger in? We are so silly! He does however, bring us scripture, friends, and little morsels of beauty. We have to seek them. We have to strive to see the good even when there appears to be nothing to find. If we ask Him to help us see the blessings, to remove the thorn that keeps us from seeing the good in the midst of our trials, He will. Every single time.

Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up in honor. James 4:10 NLT

God intends the very best for our lives. That can require pain and loss, especially as we hang on tight to our limited idea of what we envision God’s very best for us to be.

I am learning that Faith is like a muscle; the more we stretch it the more it grows. It can burn, and it can hurt. God’s perfect peace, God’s amazing joy comes when we become able to work through the pain. I am learning to not lean in with prayer as much as listening to sermons and songs but mostly reading scripture. There is so much comfort in The Word. Promises of times like this, as well as what He intends for our lives. It is so enriched and so empowering to know you are exactly where you are meant to be and God has this under control.

I have a plethora of songs and passages I didn’t know I was collecting, I just did it. Now I have my stockpile and it is so encouraging. I have my go to people, those that will pray over me. I don’t have to speak. I am learning to not speak during my trials. I believe I give my strong holds a bit more strength when I give a voice to my fears instead of my faith. Ironically, or not, I do believe that not talking about it is exactly the opposite of everything I was told I needed to learn how to do!

As I deepen my relationship with God, I have learned there is a point of needing to be still. Be still and let the Lord do the talking. Let the Shepherds do the talking. Let the strong pray over you, FOR you. Just take it in. Let it pour over you, like a balm for your soul.

Good wine, good foods, slowly marinate; ripening to perfection and wonder with age. Why wouldn’t we? Aren’t we more beautiful, more wonderful? More loved?

The eternal God is your refuge,and underneath are the everlasting arms.
He will drive out your enemies before you,saying, ‘Destroy them!’Deuteronomy 33:27 (NIV)

neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 8:39

Leave a Reply

