Potholes

4 Feb

When times are good, be happy; but when times are bad, consider: God has made the one as well as the other. ~Ecclesiates 7:14

When our hearts are set on something and the answer is no, there is so much more to it than just the acceptance and sadness of defeat. The process will also bring you wisdom, eventually, but it is a process.

I am not there yet. I am still processing.

I don’t know why certain things happen along our journey, but I definitely know they are important. I do know that our unhappiness is the difference between our own expectations and the acceptance of God’s plan. If we are seeking, that means a movement forward. Shouldn’t that be a seeking of God’s will and not our own? Wouldn’t there be less pain, more peace if our only desire was for His plan? In His incredible humor and genius, He didn’t create us to be grateful or obedient; He created us to be selfish.

As Christians, we know we are heaven bound; that our purpose here is to deepen our bond and trust in God, to have faith. The result from that is become His light here, become more loving, more Holy. As His beloved children, we pretty much fail daily at this one simple task.

I have been consumed with a burden of why’s. Why’s are the epitome of self and of the Devil; Disappointment, discouragement, depression and despair. Me! The upbeat one, the positive one. Ugh!

I was complacent. I guess I figured I had arrived at peaceful contentment. How funny! I know that Heaven is the arrival of the end of trials, not our journey here. This place, this journey, is a journey of heartbreaks, blessings, love, loss, peace, fear, it is all of it.

Our greatest challenge is to have Faith;To trust Him at all times and be joyful, even in our trials.
It is a work in progress. I am a work in progress.

Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see. ~Hebrews 11:1

Leave a Reply

