Lamp For My Feet

17 Jan

Psalm 119:105 (NIV) 105 Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.

The Bible.

Skeptics will read the words and say Man has distorted The Bible. For those that have pieced together and studied the Dead Sea Scroll’s (some looking for validation, some to discredit) none can discredit The Bible’s near accuracy. When you translate from Hebrew, Greek and Aramaic, there are words that closely match. Only a few words have changed. Not books.

That said, while skeptics argue the validity, believers argue the meaning. We read with our experience and our emotional response to that experience. Trust, or distrust, hope or hopeless, fear or courageous, it doesn’t matter. But the truth is, you will find scripture to inspire you in the exact place you are.

The Bible is a miraculous book. It is the living word, if and when you seek God in the pages. The Bible can be used to hurt, to prove, to argue, to pray, to inspire, to learn, to validate. “Do you see? Do you see what it says here?”

Isaiah 40:8 (NIV)
8 The grass withers and the flowers fall,but the word of our God endures forever.”

Here is what The Bible is for me:

The Bible is a reminder. The words are lyrical and remind me of the promises. When I have questions about my faith walk, I find comfort in the knowledge The Word provides for me. The answers are there for me, regardless if I like them or they convict me. The pages contain nothing but great hope in my heart.

Matthew 24:35 (NIV)
35 Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will never pass away.

I love that each Sunday, I get to be in a room full of other Jesus questioners and Jesus followers, even some Jesus skeptics. I love the message that each new teacher brings to that congregation, that class, to give my faith more depth, more inspiration, more conviction and more hope.

2 Timothy 3:16-17 (AMP)
16 Every Scripture is God-breathed (given by His inspiration) and profitable for instruction, for reproof and conviction of sin, for correction of error and discipline in obedience, [and] for training in righteousness (in holy living, in conformity to God’s will in thought, purpose, and action),

Hebrews 4:12 (AMP)
12 For the Word that God speaks is alive and full of power [making it active, operative, energizing, and effective]; it is sharper than any two-edged sword, penetrating to the dividing line of the [a]breath of life (soul) and [the immortal] spirit, and of joints and marrow [of the deepest parts of our nature], exposing and sifting and analyzing and judging the very thoughts and purposes of the heart

I love the connectivity The Bible has to the bond I have with Christ. It creates a place of dialogue or sometimes, the dialogue provides the scripture He intends for me to read. I love that when I need to hear certain words, they come to life and present themselves to me. His words. His promise. How cool is that?

John 1:1(NIV)
The Word Became Flesh
1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.

The words in The Bible, teach me, from sermons, to quiet devotions, or from other’s that study. I do not study in great depth. I long to learn Hebrew, not so I can be learned, but because it is such a romantic idea to me. Hebrew is so enchanting in it’s lyrical, mystical ways. I love language.

The Bible is there for me, when I am feeling alone, when I don’t feel connected in my walk, when I am questioning, or worried, or lonely, or grateful. There is scripture that I can go to, to calm my fears, to reassure my path, to remind me to seek comfort from the Holy Spirit, to bless me. It is not a living being, and we don’t worship The Bible, and honestly, my close walk began with very little time in the pages. My time was spent in conversation with God. Seeking Him, seeking His guidance and reassurance. From there, came The Word.

Romans 15:4 (NIV)
4 For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope.

One Response to “Lamp For My Feet”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The power of the King’s word | daily meditation - January 23, 2014

    […] Lamp For My Feet (beachgirl952.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

