Removing the Thorn of Security

19 Jan

“The burden borne by mankind is a heavy and a crushing thing. The word Jesus used means a load carried or toil borne to the point of exhaustion. Rest is simply the release of that burden. It is not something we do, it is what comes to us when we cease to do.” A.W.Tozer

Every now and then there is a sermon that hits you between the eyes. Something is said that opens a whole new understanding. The sermon last night really hit me in a new way. I found a thorn, an idol. Now that may not be what Pastor was speaking of, but I found it none-the-less.

My idol of security has been there my whole life, but interestingly, it has probably become most important to me during my closest walk with Christ! Wow!

After being let go of 2 jobs in 2 years, then being unable to find work, having to take a job that was completely foreign to me for half the pay, I hung on tightly to that job. Out of fear. Yes, I opened that door wide open for warfare, He let it happen and boy was there! I prayed the Armor of God over me everyday, several times during the day, everyday. I find myself in a similar situation, though I manage to escape much of it. I thought it was because I have been praying the Armor of God over this place and myself every day.

Pastor Dustin stated: “The Armor of God is something we put on and leave on”. That struck me hard! Light bulb! Idol! This is Satan’s sidewalk to my front door, which I left wide open for him to enter.

I still find my security in work, in myself. If I work harder, continue to be the light, it will all be good. God will win, satan will lose. If that was the thorn, it would be fine, but it is not the thorn. My idol of security is alive and well, though I thought I had relinquished that control. Christ is the Peace in our warfare, and conflict is the open door to make room for Him and His Light, (not ours) instead of darkness. It all really just depends on whom we are inviting in.

When we are ready to relinquish our lives to Jesus, give all our plans, worries, fears, hope, security and burden’s to Him, we find His Perfect Rest and Peace. Seeking him in EVERY circumstance, worshiping Him, even in our darkest moments.

Finding our idols and relinquishing them, allows us to claim the seat next to Jesus that is already there with our name on it. We just don’t believe that.

Ephesians 2:6(NIV) And God raised us up with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus

Find your warfare, and you will find your idol. Lay your idol down and find His Peace.

Thank you Lord, for teaching me how to be loved by You completely. Amen

Psalm 27:8 (NKJV)When You said, “Seek My face,” My heart said to You, “Your face, Lord, I will seek.”

Philippians 4:7 (NKJV)and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

Philippians 4:7(MSG) Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.

Jeremiah 29:13 (NIV)You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

Colossians 2:14 (NIV) having canceled the charge of our legal indebtedness, which stood against us and condemned us; he has taken it away, nailing it to the cross.

Ephesians 3:20(NIV) Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us,

Romans 16:20(NIV) The God of peace will soon crush Satan under your feet. The grace of our Lord Jesus be with you.

Exodus 15:3(NIV)The Lord is a warrior;
the Lord is his name.

Leave a Reply

