Does This Muscle Make My Faith Look Small?

16 Jul

1 John 2:16 (NKJV)
16 For all that is in the world—the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life—is not of the Father but is of the world.
1 John 2:16 (NLT)
16 For the world offers only a craving for physical pleasure, a craving for everything we see, and pride in our achievements and possessions. These are not from the Father, but are from this world.

We are built to worship, and to sin. While Moses was up on the mount, just after God showed himself in a most incredible and grandiose way, (Exodus 14:21) they built an idol of gold (Exodus 32:1). Of course they did! We are so incredibly unfaithful, short sighted, impatient and self righteous. We do not like to be still and wait for God’s best and God’s perfect timing. It’s uncomfortable. It could be our fear that we suddenly feel as if we fall short, unworthy, that He left us. But why would He? We are so needy! He doesn’t break His promises to us, He never leaves us.

Money became disappointing to us in the past 10 years. We shifted from spending it,to chasing it, to bigger houses, to what we thought we would be able to control better. That didn’t work out so well.The bubble burst…. Now what?

I have watched this shift of idolatry from money to muscle. To fitness and looks.

There is pride in there and control. Doing a thing because we love it, because it brings us joy, is one thing. There is nothing wrong with balance and right thinking. Pride in how we look needs to be addressed. Pride in how tough we are, setting goals, achieving them, for personal gain is a very slippery slope.

If we focus on improving our health with removing gluttony and laziness. Great! If we are putting more emphasis on performing, working out, etc, than we do on God, and Godly things, then we have built our own idol of gold..(Gold’s Gym) … see what I did there. ha!

The focus on the external is so significant. Justification to use the physical is as worldly as it gets. The focus on what you do to achieve health gets convoluted with how you look. We flatter one another in our workout attempts. We congratulate the accomplishment of weight loss. We say this in terms of health but that is untruth. You don’t look at someone and say, you look so healthy! We say.. “wow, you look great!”

I was always in good shape, blessed with good health. I am not in my prime. I am not in the greatest shape or with the best looks of my life. Outward appearance was a very big deal to me. Something that broke me, deeply, was the reason my husband gave me for leaving my marriage. “You got fat”. I wasn’t in great shape anymore. Well, I am still not that sassy, skinny girl of my younger years, yet, I feel more beautiful than I ever have in my life.

What is the difference? I think the true difference is I have finally matured to the point where outside voices, or even the whisper of the enemy, cannot overshadow the knowledge that I am His Prize. Think about that statement. God’s Prize.

I wonder what our children think. I wonder if they are being told they are worth more because of all He gave or because of what they accomplish and look like.

My beauty comes from a knowledge. It isn’t the outside of me. It is from this acceptance and knowing that I am cherished, adored, beloved. My beauty is HIM. It is joy, love, truth, knowledge, hope, peace, forgiveness, Grace, Mercy and all that is Jesus. It is the reflection of love and laughter in the faces of the people God puts in front of me. It is the light in my grandson’s eyes when he looks at me.

It is the overwhelming gratitude of seeing Jesus on the cross and being so incredibly humbled and loved.

Our body is a temple and we are to take care of it. There is so much to be enjoyed in a good healthy lifestyle. The warning comes to those that may be building an idol of gold, instead.

1 John 5:21 (AMP)21 Little children, keep yourselves from idols (false gods)—[from anything and everything that would occupy the place in your heart due to God, from any sort of substitute for Him that would take first place in your life]. Amen (so let it be)
Exodus 20:3- (NIV)3 “You shall have no other gods before[a] me.

Jonah 2:8 (AMP)8 Those who pay regard to false, useless, and worthless idols forsake their own [Source of] mercy and loving-kindness

Galatians 5:19-21 (MSG)19-21 It is obvious what kind of life develops out of trying to get your own way all the time: repetitive, loveless, cheap sex; a stinking accumulation of mental and emotional garbage; frenzied and joyless grabs for happiness; trinket gods; magic-show religion; paranoid loneliness; cutthroat competition; all-consuming-yet-never-satisfied wants; a brutal temper; an impotence to love or be loved; divided homes and divided lives; small-minded and lopsided pursuits; the vicious habit of depersonalizing everyone into a rival; uncontrolled and uncontrollable addictions; ugly parodies of community. I could go on.This isn’t the first time I have warned you, you know. If you use your freedom this way, you will not inherit God’s kingdom.

1 Corinthians 10:14 (AMP)14 Therefore, my dearly beloved, shun (keep clear away from, avoid by flight if need be) any sort of idolatry (of loving or venerating anything more than God).

Leviticus 19:4(NIV)4 “‘Do not turn to idols or make metal gods for yourselves. I am the Lord your God.

Leave a Reply

