Standing in the way

19 Aug

Standing in the way
By Beckie Halaska

Standing in the way of your amazing grace.
Staring from the shadows at the foot of the cross.

I know your words like the back of my hand,
I can bring them to their knees as I cry out in prayer
I can teach a mighty thunder and rebuke in your name

I can’t feel you, find you, hear you.
I am
Standing in the way of your amazing Grace
Staring from the shadows at the foot of the cross.

I see my reflection in the mirror cast with shame
I see your hands through the veil of self hate
The lies are the words that I hear more than all

I am screaming with no sound
I am
Standing in the way of your amazing Grace
Staring from the shadows at the foot of the cross.

You sculpted me from nothing and nothing remained
I was formed by your love, but where are you now?
Tainted by the sins of evil and lies, empty hands clenched tight to nothing at all

I am
Standing in the way of your amazing Grace
Staring from the shadows at the foot of the cross.

You say you love me with everlasting love. Drawn me with unfailing kindness
You see my heart, and know my shame
Reach in and tear open the oozing wound sewn shut

I am
Standing in the way of your amazing Grace
Staring from the shadows at the foot of the cross.

But God: Love me where I cannot love. Speak to my heart where I cannot hear.
Shatter the scepter of lies I give Satan

So I am no longer
Standing in the way of your amazing Grace
Staring from the shadows at the foot of the cross.

Ephesians 5:29, Ephesians 2:10, Psalm 139:13-15, Jeremiah 31:3, Isaiah 41:13, 1 john 4:19, Romans 8:35-39, Ephesians 3:19

One Response to “Standing in the way”

  1. bdlauren August 20, 2014 at 3:03 am #

    Beautiful

Leave a Reply

