A Case For Forgiveness

3 Sep

I have learned so much about my own weakness and sinful nature over the past 6 years. I have never had stronger faith and a deeper desire to please my Father, and still I sin.

During this growing time, I have lost my narrow need for control by needing to define right and wrong, black and white, from judgemental eyes.

I have learned to lay at the foot of the cross, set my sin there and ask God for wisdom and strength, forgiveness for my weakness and gratitude for not taking away my hope.

I have new eyes, His eyes, eyes that have allowed me to love myself even through my sins.

From that love comes love and forgiveness for those that sin against me or other’s I care about. If my sin is not meant to harm, why would I persecute other’s as if they intended to harm.

This is not to say sin doesn’t matter, because it does, because it carries consequence; To myself, or to others, yes, there is always consequence, consequences that can hurt, deeply.

What sin doesn’t do is separate me from my salvation; Salvation gained through no doing of my own, only by the sacrifice of one Son to carry my sins on His back, so I may be redeemed. If He was willing to do that for me, and I am willing to accept that, then I MUST choose to grant mercy and share grace with everyone- All- Regardless of the harm they have caused.

Forgiveness doesn’t mean we allow them to harm us again, but we carry no un-forgiveness or bitterness in our hearts.
God does this for us, Jesus suffered and died for us, as He died He cried out on behalf of those that harmed Him. “Forgive them Father, they know not what they do.” His forbearance is beyond understanding, yet we can pray to have that patience, that wisdom, that acceptance, that love!

When we are betrayed by those we care most about, we can get angry, we can lash out or we can begin the process of healing by forgiving.

“For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God” Romans 3:23

If you have faith, you have all you need to weather the hurts in this life. What forgiveness does is it allows your offender to move closer to God, to show mercy is to demonstrate the Love you have received. If we don’t show grace, or accept it, we stand in the way of God. If Christ died for us, and we believe that, then it should be without merit that we share the full impact of Grace.

Shame and guilt are not of God, they are of the un-forgiven. Hebrews 4:15 says “For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are-yet was without sin.”

I am not without sin. But.. I am forgiven. And I choose to forgive.

One Response to “A Case For Forgiveness”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Case For Forgiveness | Christians Anonymous - September 3, 2015

    […] Source: A Case For Forgiveness […]

Leave a Reply

