Conduit

30 Mar

Prayer. So simple a thing. We began as children to pray “now I lay me down to sleep”  Yet, if asked ‘how is your prayer life?’ What would your answer be? 

I had an aha moment in answering that very question.  I felt I understood what prayer was, I even fantasized about what my prayer room would look and sound like. I thought I understood because I knew what prayer was. Or did I? 

I read my bible everyday, even meditate on what I have read. I talk to God all day long, He is never too far from my thoughts. I guess I thought this was prayer but in actuality, this is relationship and time in the word is knowledge.

Sure, I cry out to Him for strength at times, I pray with David as I read the Psalms and when I’m stumbling, I cry out for peace. Of course,  I pray when someone is in need. 

But…when I see the true smallness of my hurts and triumphs, dramas and achievements, compared to the vastness of joy awaiting in eternity, I realize, I simply need to pray to connect to that power, to a faith I cannot feel without prayer. It eliminates me –my experiences and disbelief. 

Our prayer life is essential. It is that purposeful. 

The conduit of Faith. 

It is the repetitive workout that tears and rebuilds our faith muscle. 

““And so I tell you, keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And to everyone who knocks, the door will be opened.”

‭‭Luke‬ ‭11:9-10‬ ‭NLT‬‬

Prayer is also a connection to the Holy Spirit, our compass, it opens the door of our hearts and shows our longing, our weakness, our joy and our triumphs. It is how we grow in our journey to holiness. 

Regular, intentional prayer is as essential to our well being as followers, as reading the Word; It prioritizes our worship back to Him and off of us. 

 We need this daily – “take up your cross daily and follow me” 

We don’t need powerful prayer or impressive words-  He said we can simply groan and our Father will know our prayers. In truth, if we simply pray His name- Jesus..Jesus, over again, our hearts become refocused and He can mold and shape and prune and heal, all that lies within us.   

Tim Keller says of prayer – “the only entryway into genuine self-knowledge. It is also the main way we experience deep change—the reordering of our loves”

Jesus said ask and keep asking- in Matthew 6 he teaches us how to pray: 

“But when you pray, go away by yourself, shut the door behind you, and pray to your Father in private. Then your Father, who sees everything, will reward you. “When you pray, don’t babble on and on as people of other religions do. They think their prayers are answered merely by repeating their words again and again. Don’t be like them, for your Father knows exactly what you need even before you ask him! Pray like this: Our Father in heaven, may your name be kept holy. May your Kingdom come soon. May your will be done on earth, as it is in heaven and forgive us our sins, as we have forgiven those who sin against us. And don’t let us yield to temptation, but rescue us from the evil one. “If you forgive those who sin against you, your heavenly Father will forgive you. But if you refuse to forgive others, your Father will not forgive your sins.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭6:6-10, 12-15‬ ‭NLT‬‬

Just like the mustard seed … You only need to just begin. He meets you there. 

Leave a Reply

